M.J. Hamblin Smith Biography

M.J. Hamblin Smith




British artist M.J. Hamblin Smith did a series of 6 "Master" portraits housed at Peterhouse, University of Cambridge. They include Peterhouse Masters Harold Temperley, LittD (1938-1939); John Cosin, DD,(1635-1644); William Hodgson, DD (1838-1847); John Whalley, DD (1733-1748); Edmund Keene, Master (1748-1754); and Mathew Wren, Master (1625-1626 & 1634). There is little other information at this time except that he did a few color woodcuts in the early 20th century.

Peterhouse is a constituent college of the University of Cambridge. It is the oldest college of the university, having been founded in 1284 by Hugo de Balsham, Bishop of Ely, and granted its charter by King Edward I. Today, Peterhouse has 254 undergraduates, 116 full-time graduate students and 54 fellows. The official name of Peterhouse does not include "college", although "Peterhouse College" is often seen in public.